The Perfect Parent?

What makes me the perfect parent to my babies?

I am a mum. Not even a first time mum I am a mum of two beautiful babies and I still don’t know if I am doing it right. Welcome to parent-hood

But see the trick is that NO ONE DOES.

Questioning what the hell I am doing most of the time is what makes me a good mum because it means that i love my babies so wholeheartedly that i wonder if i am enough, if they deserve more than me and what I can give them. Because I love them so much I am constantly learning and growing so i can give them the very best version of me.

Stressing over everything, am I even doing this right? its perfectly normal.

Hating some days and wanting them to be over Is okay and WE HAVE ALL BEEN THERE!

We all give up things so our children can get what they need from us.
My Fiance and I have to sleep in separate beds at the moment so that i can be with my beautiful, clingy to mum, two year old and Jake cuddles our gorgeous girl so we all actually get some sleep. I hate being away from him but Maxis needs have to come first.

I get the mum guilt’s to, for not letting them out of my site but sometimes
wishing I had the strength to let someone look after the kids, believe me I have tried.

Leaving the house to do the food shopping on my own at night and secretly loving it.

Going to the gym.

Telling my baby off so much some days, I feel like I am sick of the sound of my own voice.

Not cooking dinner like I used to before baby no. 2 arrived. (toasties all the way)

Giving all that I can, but not Everything. Because at the end of the day I need a little left for me to be me.

I do EVERYTHING wrong. Co-sleeping, demand feeding, demand everything.

I let him trash the house and I don’t make him help pack up because its a battle and I just don’t think its an important life lesson for a two year old. Let them be little.

He falls asleep on the couch every night and is transferred into our bed after he is asleep. He has NO specific bedtime and NO specific nap time, he sleeps if and when he wants to.

He doesn’t sit at the table for lunch and he is allowed to have treats when he does something good. I BRIBE him with a new toy or a lolly.

I do all of these things to get through the day and I feel guilty for 99% of them.

You may have misunderstood. I am not the perfect parent. Not to anyone else. I certainly wouldn’t win awards for raising the worlds best behaved kids. But I am perfect to my main man and little princess.

He may hate that he has to brush his teeth and eat healthy food but he misses me like crazy when I leave the house and I know that when we are cuddled up together in bed at night with his heavy relaxed breathing and sweaty little boy hair in my face that he feels safe and warm and complete all because I am his mummy. And I am a bloody great one.

Remember to be kind to yourself beautiful mumma’s, you are doing your best and YOUR BEST IS ALL THEY KNOW. You are enough. And that is all that matters

www.polishedpurposefulpretty.com

Leave a Reply

