Polished Purposeful Pretty - Interview with Yvette Wilson The Stylist Splash www.polishedpurposefulpretty.com

Blog Advice – Inspirational Mum: Yvette Wilson

As you guys know I absolutely love chatting with women who inspire me. When I first launched my blog, Polished Purposeful Pretty two months ago, I got in contact with the owners of my favorite blogs to introduce myself and my new venture. I also asked for any advice they had for me seeing as they were and are all further into a similar journey that I was just at the beginning of. I figured, Why not learn from the experiences of other successful people, people who I look up to, rather than from hours of wasted time?! Lets be honest, as parents, we don’t have a whole heap of spare time as it is.

Anyway, One of the most valuable pieces of advice I received was from the wonderful and ever-so-talented Yvette Wilson, the face behind The Stylist Splash! Her blog is all things Interior Styling, and personal style! Yvette is incredible behind a lense, especially when shes snapping pics of her home and vignettes! honestly you would be doing yourself a favor, jump over and check out The Stylist Splash here.

Polished Purposeful Pretty - Interview with Yvette Wilson The Stylist Splash www.polishedpurposefulpretty.comPolished Purposeful Pretty - Interview with Yvette Wilson The Stylist Splash www.polishedpurposefulpretty.comPolished Purposeful Pretty - Interview with Yvette Wilson The Stylist Splash www.polishedpurposefulpretty.com

I asked Yvette to do an interview for me and somehow in her crazy busy schedule she managed to fit it in for me! thankfully to, because I know how inspiring some of you will find her story! Here it is.

Yvette, you would have to be the busiest Woman I have ever met! You are a mum of three kiddies 15, 13 and a 6 year old. You run a very successful blog and online store over at www.thestylistsplash.com.au. You style your home, for shops for photo-shoots and visual merchandise store windows, You have done many interviews for magazines and appeared in Womens day, Home Magazine, Inside out Home Beautiful plus many other places. How do you find the time to fit it all in?

I get up at 5 am to fit it all in and I am very organised – or like to think I am. Now my little boy Archer is at school I have more time during the day to work on all these projects.

What made you decide to start your own blog?

It all started on Instagram, I would post pictures of things I loved or things I bought, fashion or recipes and would get so many questions about where to buy it, how to cook it etc. that I decided to collate it all in a blog.

you are also studying a cert IV in design and love healthy cooking and running! You are the ultimate multitasking Mumma. Do you still manage to put your feet up for some ‘me time’?

My me time is at 5am when I take my dog for a run. Other than that I am quite content doing what I am doing and don’t pine for any other me time.

11348305_113769775623933_1804811971_nPolished Purposeful Pretty - Interview with Yvette Wilson The Stylist Splash www.polishedpurposefulpretty.comWhat advice would you offer to other mums who struggle to fit in a career and their passion along with parenting?

I guess we all have the same amount of time in the day so being organised would be the key to fitting it all in.

You are a talented creative as well as being organised and business minded. How do you encourage your children to find their passion and incorporate it into their future?

My husband runs a company also and so the kids, especially the older two see what is involved in running your own business.  Hard work pays off in the end.

Some advice you gave me on launching my blog was to ‘ stay true to yourself, and to your content.’ – it was actually my favorite piece of advice. Your blog is really authentic, how do you achieve this when working with companies and sponsors?

The key is to work with brands that are true to your brand. There is no point in me trying to promote nappies when I don’t have any children who use them. Think about the brand and how it fits in with your lifestyle and stay true to that.

Have your successes in the blogosphere surprised you, or is your blog everything you expected it to be today?

Almost 2 years ago I started and I never expected it to go where it has.   I am very blessed that I am able to do something I love and that also fits in with my family.

Polished Purposeful Pretty - Interview with Yvette Wilson The Stylist Splash www.polishedpurposefulpretty.comPolished Purposeful Pretty - Interview with Yvette Wilson The Stylist Splash www.polishedpurposefulpretty.com

Polished Purposeful Pretty - Interview with Yvette Wilson The Stylist Splash www.polishedpurposefulpretty.com

www.polishedpurposefulpretty.com

5 thoughts on “Blog Advice – Inspirational Mum: Yvette Wilson

Leave a Reply

